The Elbe Churches

It is worth making a stop on the way. Large or small, the churches in the region are often gems of church art. Most are open and provide a good insight into life on the Elbe.

St. Maria Tripkau in Amt Neuhaus

This church is unique in Germany. It dates back to the beginning of the 17th century with its simple timber-framed hall construction, which today still forms the nave; in 1864 it was extended by a choir, sacristy and tower. Much remains from the 19th century, the organ from the 18th century, but it was erected later in St. Maria. In the years 1996-98 artists, church members and inhabitants renovated it to a unique total art work (Gesamtkunstwerk). The interior was completely redesigned to the plans of Professor Erler, Rector of the College of Art and Design Burg Giebichenstein (Halle). All wall surfaces, the ceiling, the floor, the doors and windows were covered with large (1 metre x 1 metre) crosses. The crosses on the walls were painted, on the floor they were made of different coloured bricks made of sheet iron.

St. Maria Tripkau in Amt Neuhaus

This church is unique in Germany. It dates back to the beginning of the 17th century with its simple timber-framed hall construction, which today still forms the nave; in 1864 it was extended by a choir, sacristy and tower. Much remains from the 19th century, the organ from the 18th century, but it was erected later in St. Maria. In the years 1996-98 artists, church members and inhabitants renovated it to a unique total art work (Gesamtkunstwerk). The interior was completely redesigned to the plans of Professor Erler, Rector of the College of Art and Design Burg Giebichenstein (Halle). All wall surfaces, the ceiling, the floor, the doors and windows were covered with large (1 metre x 1 metre) crosses. The crosses on the walls were painted, on the floor they were made of different coloured bricks made of sheet iron.

Lamberti Church Nahrendorf

St. Lamberti Church, which is located in the town centre, can be found in documents from St. Michaelis Monastery in Lüneburg dating back to 1271. At the end of the 18th century, the church had to be completely renewed, damaged by various storms. The Fachhaus style of the outer facade is unusually charismatic.

© skulau


www.kirche-nahrendorf.wir-e.de

St. Vitus Church in Barskamp

The oldest part of this church is the tower, which was built as a defensive tower in 950. The present appearance of the nave dates back to reconstruction between 1764-1770. During this time the church and the defensive tower were connected.

The altar and the image of the Last Supper were created by the Lüneburg painter Heinrich Melchior Westphal. The altar and picture date back to 1770. The medieval baptism font is supported by a baptism stand made of reddish elm wood, built by the sculptor Otto Flath.

 

www.kirche-barskamp.wir-e.de

Radegast Church

This church was built around 1452. The old tower of the church was demolished in 1752 and rebuilt in 1759-1760. Thirty years earlier, in 1729, the sacristy was built; in 1811 the altar was made. The two beautiful chandeliers from 1658 and the two altar covers from 1801 and 1849 are particularly noteworthy. Radegast church has had an organ since 1884. The Elbe Cycle Path and the German Stork Road pass right next to the church.  


www.garlstorf-radegast.wir-e.de

Marschacht - Petri Church

The Elbe had a different course in the middle of the 13th century. A disaster destroyed old Hachede and its church. In the place names of Marschacht (Marsch-Hachede) and Geesthacht (Geest-Hachede), the memory of the lost place has been preserved. The present Petri Church was built at the beginning of the 17th century and extensively rebuilt and renovated in 1971 and 2001.


www.samtgemeinde-elbmarsch.de

St. Nicolai Church in Artlenburg

The massive tower is part of an old fortification on the Old Salt Road at the junction with the Elbe. The foundation of this tower is more than 1,000 years old. Of note in this church is the neoclassical nave of 1833 (which was last renovated in 1992). A special feature is that the altar is located on the long side. In the evening, the church is illuminated.

 

St. Martin's Church in Hittbergen. The neo-Gothic church of St. Martin was built in the years 1872 to 1875 from a mighty tower from the Middle Ages. The special feature of this church is the elaborate beamed ceiling. A millennial oak tree can be found in the church grounds.


www.artlenburg.de/b/kirche/

St. Johannes Church Dahlenburg


St. Johannes Church in Dahlenburg was built at the beginning of this century in the Neo-Gothic style. For about 750 years there was a church in this place.

Of particular note is its valuable, carved oak altar from the 14th-15th. Century.


Also worth a visit in Dahlenburg is the 750-year-old Laurentius chapel, which houses the museum of local history.


kirche-dahlenburg.wir-e.de

St. Jacobi Church Bleckede

The church in Bleckede is mentioned for the first time in a document from the year 1272.
In 1765, the church was demolished because of dilapidation and in 1766-1767 the current St. Jacobi Church was rebuilt in its late Baroque style of today.

It has a special and valuable inventory, such as a crucifixion group from the 15th century. The pulpit and baptism font date from the 17th century.

At the beginning of the 20th century, two coloured stained-glass windows were added to the left and right of the altar, showing the nativity scene and the resurrection. Another stained-glass window depicts a contemporary theme – the opening of the border in 1989.

There is a hammer organ in St. Jacobi Church, which was rebuilt from 1969-1977 after the old model. It has 26 registers.

www.jacobi-bleckede.de

St. Marien Church Drennhausen

Since 16/03/2016, St. Marien Church Drennhausen has officially been a cycleway church. This award makes it clear that the church is definitely open during the day: in the summer months from 10:00 to 18:00, in winter from 10:00 to 16:00. Cyclists who travel along the Elbe cycle path will see the "church open" sign.

Many use this open church offer for a visit and a short rest.

 

https://elbmarsch.wir-e.de/drennhausen

Photo: © Elberadweg Nord Photocompany

Contact & Services

Flusslandschaft Elbe GmbH

Industriestraße 10
21354 Bleckede

Tel.: +49 5852 9519 880

Fax: +49 5852 9519 888

Email: info@erlebnis-elbe.de

  • Erlebnis Elbe auf Facebook
  • Erlebnis Elbe auf Instagram
  • Erlebnis Elbe auf Twitter
  • Erlebnis Elbe auf Pinterest

Die Elbkirchen

Unbenannt-3.png

Es lohnt sich unterwegs Einkehr zu halten. Die kleinen oder größeren Kirchen in der Region sind oft Kleinode der Kirchenkunst. Die meisten sind geöffnet und bieten einen guten Einblick in das Leben an der Elbe.

St. Maria zu Tripkau in Amt Neuhaus

Diese Kirche ist in Deutschland einmalig. Sie stammt aus dem Anfang des 17. Jahrhunderts und sein schlichter Saalbau aus Fachwerk und bildet noch heute das Kirchenschiff, das im Jahre 1864 um Chor, Sakristei und Turm erweitert wurde. Erhalten blieb vieles  aus dem 19. Jahrhundert, die Orgel aus dem 18. Jahrhundert, wurde aber erst später in St. Maria aufgestellt. In den Jahren 1996-98 renovierten Künstler, Kirchenleute und Einwohner zu einem einmaligen Gesamtkunstwerk. Der Innenraum wurde nach den Entwürfen von Professor Erler, Rektor der Hochschule für Kunst und Design Burg Giebichenstein (Halle) ganz neu gestaltet. Alle Wandflächen, die Decke, der Fußboden, die Türen und Fenster wurden von großen Kreuzen in den Abmessungen 1 Meter x 1 Meter überzogen. Sie bemalten an den Wänden die Kreuze, im Fußboden wurden sie aus andersfarbigen Ziegeln aus Eisenblech gestaltet.

Lamberti Kirche Nahrendorf

Die im Ortskern liegende St. Lamberti-Kirche findet sich bereits in Urkunden des St. Michaelisklosters in Lüneburg aus dem Jahre 1271 wieder. Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts musste das Gotteshaus, durch diverse Sturmschäden in Mitleidenschaft gezogen, komplett erneuert werden. Ungewöhnlich charismatisch ist der Fachhausstil der Außenfassade.
 

©skulau


www.kirche-nahrendorf.wir-e.de

St. Vitus-Kirche in Barskamp

Der älteste Teil dieser Kirche ist der Turm, der als Wehrturm um 950 erbaut sein dürfte. Das heutige Aussehen des Kirchenschiffes geht auf einen Umbau während der Jahre 1764-1770 zurück. In dieser Zeit wurden Kirche und Wehrturm vereint.
Der Altar und das darauf befindliche Abendmahlsbild wurden vom Lüneburger Maler Heinrich Melchior Westphal geschaffen. Altar und Bild stammen aus dem Jahre 1770. Das mittelalterliche Taufbecken wird getragen vom Taufständer aus rötlichem Ulmenholz, das von dem Bildhauer Otto Flath erbaut wurde. 

 

www.kirche-barskamp.wir-e.de

Die Kirche zu Radegast

Dieses Gotteshaus wurde um 1452 erbaut. Der alte Turm der Kirche wurde 1752 abgebrochen und 1759/60 neu aufgebaut. 30 Jahre zuvor, also 1729, wurde die Sakristei angebaut; 1811 wurde der Altar angefertigt. An ihm sind die beiden schönen Leuchter von 1658 und die beiden Altardecken aus den Jahren 1801 und 1849 besonders erwähnens­wert. Seit 1884 besitzt die Radegaster Kirche eine Orgel. Direkt neben der Kirche führen der Elberadweg und die Deutsche Storchenstraße entlang. 


www.garlstorf-radegast.wir-e.de

Marschacht – Die Petri Kirche

Die Elbe hatte Mitte des 13. Jahrhunderts noch einen anderen Verlauf. Eine Katastrophe zerstörte das alte Hachede mit seiner Kirche. In dem Ortsnamen von Marschacht (Marsch-Hachede) und Geesthacht (Geest-Hachede), ist die Erinnerung an den untergegangenen Ort erhalten geblieben. Die jetzige Kirche, die Petri –Kirche, wurde Anfang des 17. Jahrhunderts erbaut und 1971 und 2001 umfangreich umgebaut und renoviert.


www.samtgemeinde-elbmarsch.de

St. Nicolai-Kirche in Artlenburg

Der wuchtige Turm ist Teil einer alten Befestigungsanlage an der Alten Salzstraße am Übergang über die Elbe. Das Fundament dieses Turmes ist mehr als 1.000 Jahre alt. Bemerkenswert ist in dieser Kirche das klassizistische Kirchenschiff von 1833 (das zuletzt 1992 renoviert wurde). Eine Besonderheit ist, dass der Altar sich an der Längsseite befindet. Am Abend wird die Kirche angestrahlt.
St. Martin-Kirche in Hittbergen. Die neugotische St. Martin-Kirche wurde in den Jahre 1872 bis1875 an einen trutzigen Turm aus dem Mittelalter angebaut. Das Besondere an dieser Kirche ist die aufwendige Balkendecke. Eine tausendjährige Eiche befindet sich auf dem Kirchengelände


www.artlenburg.de/b/kirche/

St. Johannes Kirche Dahlenburg


Die St. Johanneskirche Dahlenburg ist zu Anfang dieses Jahrhunderts in neugotischem Stil erbaut worden. Seit etwa 750 Jahren befindet sich an dieser Stelle eine Kirche.

In besonderer Weise hervorzuheben ist ihr wertvoller, aus Eichenholz geschnitzter Altar aus dem 14./15. Jahrhundert.

Einen Besuch wert ist in Dahlenburg auch die 750 Jahre alte Laurentiuskapelle, die das Heimatmuseum beherbergt.


kirche-dahlenburg.wir-e.de

St. Jacobi Kirche Bleckede

Erstmals wird die Kirche in Bleckede in einer Urkunde aus dem Jahre 1272 erwähnt. 
1765 wurde die Kirche wegen Baufälligkeit abgerissen und 1766/1767 wurde die jetzige St. Jacobi-Kirche in ihrem heutigen spätbarocken Stil neu erbaut.

Sie bietet einiges an besonderem und wertvollem Inventar, u.a. eine Kreuzigungsgruppe aus dem 15. Jahrhundert. Kanzel und Taufstein stammen aus dem 17. Jahrhundert.

Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts wurden links und rechts vorn Altar zwei farbige Kirchenfenster eingefügt, auf denen das Weihnachtsgeschehen und die Auferstehung zu sehen sind.Ein weiteres Kirchenfenster zeigt ein aktuelles Motiv zur Grenzöffnung im Jahre 1989.

In der Jacobikirche befindet sich eine Hammer-Orgel, die 1969-1977 nach dem alten Vorbild neu errichtet wurde. Sie hat 26 Register.


www.jacobi-bleckede.de

St. Marien-Kirche Drennhausen

Die Drennhäuser St. Marien-Kirche ist seit dem 16.03.2016 offizell eine Radwegekirche. Diese Auszeichnung macht deutlich, dass die Kirche verbindlich tagsüber geöffnet ist: in den Sommermonaten von 10 bis 18 Uhr, im Winter von 10 bis 16 Uhr.Radfahrer, die den Elberadweg entlang fahren, sehen dort das Schild „Kirche offen“.

Viele nutzen das Angebot der offenen Kirche für einen Besuch und eine kurze Rast.

 

https://elbmarsch.wir-e.de/drennhausen

Foto: © Elberadweg Nord Photocompany

Kontakt & Services

Flusslandschaft Elbe GmbH

Industriestraße 10
21354 Bleckede

Tel.: +49 5852 9519 880

Fax: +49 5852 9519 888

Email: info@erlebnis-elbe.de

Impressum

Datenschutzerklärung

AGB

Services

ENNI

Der Wassertropfen

425A9986.jpg
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest
  • Twitter Social Icon